President's Award

Recognizing Support of California Museums by Elected Officials


The President’s Award is presented to elected officials in California state government who have shown significant support for California museums and demonstrated a continuing commitment to their interests. Eligible nominees for a President’s Award are serving a term in office at the time of their nomination. They must meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • Shown past evidence in support of California museums, including: art museums; historical societies; zoos and aquaria; botanical gardens; cultural centers; science centers; and natural history museums;
  • Demonstrated a continuing commitment to museums in California;
  • Supported, attended, or hosted functions at California museums or otherwise shown publicly their support of museums in their local district;
  • Made contact with other legislators on behalf of California museums and/or issues affecting them;
  • and/or, Served (or are currently serving) on a board or committee with direct impact on museums.
Members of the California Association of Museums (CAM) Board of Directors and Government Relations Committee nominate legislators who they believe meet the criteria listed above. In consultation with CAM’s Government Relations Committee and Executive Director, the President selects the recipient(s) based on adherence to the criteria. 

Past President's Award Recipients

Assemblyman Eduardo Garcia – 2018

Assemblyman Richard Bloom – 2016

Assemblyman Ian Calderon – 2015

Assemblyman Wesley Chesbro – 2014

State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson – 2013

 Assemblywoman Toni Atkins – 2013

Senator Curren Price – 2011

 Assemblywoman Nora Campos – 2011

Assemblyman Anthony Portantino – 2010

Assemblyman Mike Villines – 2008

Senator Alan Lowenthal – 2007

Assemblyman Pedro Nava – 2007

Assemblyman John Laird – 2006

Senator Christine Kehoe – 2005

 Assemblyman Mark Leno – 2005

Senator John Burton – 2004