The California Association of Museums’ (CAM) annual CAMMY Award recognizes extraordinary museum supporters, professionals, and institutions that have made outstanding contributions to California museums. The award is presented at the annual CAM conference. 

Each year, the award highlights the work of an individual or group in one or more of the following areas: (1) Leadership: This category recognizes sustained excellence and extraordinary leadership by an individual museum professional or organization. The individual or museum is recognized for their leadership in the California museum field and serves as a model for others. (2) Patronage: This category honors altruism and extraordinary museum patronage by recognizing exceptional financial generosity; support for collections, exhibitions, or programs; and volunteer leadership and stewardship. (3) Service to the Field: This category recognizes sustained excellence and extraordinary service by an individual or an organization that has benefited the California museum field.  

Past Recipients
Huell Howser, Director/Producer of KCET’s California’s Gold (1994)
James Irvine Foundation (1995)
Museum of Modern Art, San Francisco (1996)
Institute of Museum and Library Services (1997)
J. Paul Getty Museum (1998)
Edward Robings, Director, Ventura County Museum of History & Art (1999)
Packard Foundation (2000)
Mrs. Sharon Davis, First Lady of California (2001)
California Senator Richard Alarcon (2002)
U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein (2006)
Ed Able (2007)
John F. Kennedy University (2008)
Wells Fargo (2009)
California Academy of Sciences (2009)
Target (2010)
Bank of America (2011)
Pasadena Educational Foundation (2012)
Marcy Friedman (2012) 
Getty Leadership Institute (2013)
Jean Schulz (2014)
Legler Benbough Foundation (2015)
California Cultural and Historical Endowment (2016)
California Arts Council (2017)
Paulette Hennum (2017)
California Preservation Program (2018)
California Department of Education (2019)

Nomination information for 2020 will be announced later in the year.