Recognizing Extraordinary Contributions to California Museums

The California Association of Museums’ (CAM) annual CAMMY Award recognizes extraordinary museum supporters, professionals, and institutions that have made outstanding contributions to California museums. The award is presented at the annual CAM conference. 

Each year, the award highlights the work of an individual or group in one or more of the following areas:

  • Leadership: This category recognizes sustained excellence and extraordinary leadership by an individual museum professional or organization. The individual or museum is recognized for their leadership in the California museum field and serves as a model for others.
  • Patronage: This category honors altruism and extraordinary museum patronage by recognizing exceptional financial generosity; support for collections, exhibitions, or programs; and volunteer leadership and stewardship.
  • Service to the Field: This category recognizes sustained excellence and extraordinary service by an individual or an organization that has benefited the California museum field.   

Past CAMMY Award Recipients

Los Angeles Department of Arts and Culture – 2020

California Department of Education – 2019

California Preservation Program – 2018

Paulette Hennum – 2017

 California Arts Council – 2017

California Cultural and Historical Endowment – 2016

 Legler Benbough Foundation – 2015

 Jean Schulz – 2014

 Getty Leadership Institute – 2013

 Marcy Friedman – 2012 

Pasadena Educational Foundation – 2012

Bank of America – 2011

Target – 2010

California Academy of Sciences – 2009

Wells Fargo – 2009

John F. Kennedy University – 2008

Ed Able – 2007

U.S. Senator Dianne Feinstein – 2006

California Senator Richard Alarcon – 2002

Mrs. Sharon Davis, First Lady of California – 2001

Packard Foundation – 2000

Edward Robings, Director, Ventura County Museum of History & Art – 1999

J. Paul Getty Museum – 1998

Institute of Museum and Library Services – 1997

Museum of Modern Art, San Francisco – 1996

James Irvine Foundation – 1995

Huell Howser, Director/Producer of KCET’s California’s Gold – 1994